First Post!

February 3, 2009 at 8:09 pm 3 comments

Hey! I did it! Created my first blog, chose a theme, and brought in a banner photo of my two cats, Cleo, the dark tiger beauty and Squeek, the blond bombshell with an affinity for dark dress pants and sweaters!

I have been thinking of a website/blogspot for some time, but the trigger for today’s new venture was a desire to learn how to make a blogspot for Quilts-N-Things Quilt Guild of Point Pleasant, West Virginia.

New River, WV from Amtrack train, Fall 2008

New River, WV from Amtrack train, Fall 2008

This fall, I visited my mother, who lives in Reston Virginia.  I took the Cardinal Flyer, an Amtrack train that goes from Chicago to DC.  newfriends-comp

I caught the train in Huntington WV, early on a November morning, and arrived at Union Station after dark.  I met interesting people and took maybe 200 pictures along the way.  Quite a trick to get a clear shot from a moving train, with trees flashing by! 

It was nice having a leasurely visit  with my mom.  Usually it’s drive a day, visit two days, drive back, fighting holiday traffic all the way.  I hate to drive in strange cities!  And I love Amtrak!  Perfect solution!

 

Colorful building entrance near Staunton VA train depot.

Colorful building entrance near Staunton VA train depot.

As I returned from my visit a week later, my husband met me half way, in Staunton, Virginia. He took this wonderful picture of two blue doors on a brick building not far from the train station.  I hope to make it into an art quilt someday!

Then we spent a couple of days in the Shenandoah Mountains National Park.  In the van was my “traveling quilting studio,”  a quilting-in-shenandoa-mtns-compKenmore sewing machine, sewing supplies, and several UFOs, all packed neatly into a large blue rolling suitcase.  We were given a comfortable cabin perched on the edge of a cliff over the Shenandoah Valley. 

We hiked during the days, ate at the lodge, and retired to the cabin for the evening. No phone, no TV!  He read a spy novel and chuck-and-laptop-shenandoah-mtns-cropsurfed the net,  I finished sewing on 16 tilted log cabin blocks for a quilt to be given to a wounded soldier returning to the U. S.

All in all, a wonderful time for both of us!

Entry filed under: Favorite Photos, Quilt Guild, Quilting, Uncategorized. Tags: , .

March Madness–Quilt Retreat Set for March 27-28

3 Comments Add your own

  • 1. SUZAN  |  February 6, 2009 at 11:06 pm

    HI CATHY,
    I DECIDED TO CLICK ON YOUR BLOG…SOUNDS REAL GOOD. I ALWAYS WONDERED HOW TRAVELING ON THE AMTRAK WOULD BE. YOU WILL HAVE TO TELL ME MORE. MY NEXT TRIP MAY BE BY TRAIN. I HAVE RELATIVES IN MARYLAND. YES DIANE CAN HAVE THE IRON. I WILL BRING IT WITH ME ON MONDAY. HAVE A GREAT WEEKEND.

  • 2. prudy  |  March 18, 2009 at 10:51 pm

    It only took less than a minute to load this on my dial up connection.
    It is quite interesting.
    I am glad you got to visit your Mom in Va.

    Your unplanted seeds was a neat idea.
    It
    amazes me how you just keep coming up with new ideas.

    have a good week and God bless.

  • 3. Cathy Clark  |  March 18, 2009 at 11:03 pm

    Glad it loaded so quickly–thanks for the feedback about that and the seeds!

Leave a Reply

Trackback this post  |  Subscribe to the comments via RSS Feed


Enter your email address to follow this blog and receive notifications of new posts by email.


